Someone Snitched On Tiger Woods Again, Penalized 2 Strokes

Someone Snitched On Tiger Woods Again, Penalized 2 Strokes

0 351


Tiger Woods was penalized 2 strokes after his ball moved while he was removing loose impediment in the woods on the 1st hole during the 2nd round of the 2013 BMW Championship.

The interesting part about the penalty is that it was assessed after someone reported the infraction and Woods was not aware of it until he completed his round.  Here is the twist, no one in Tiger’s group saw the infraction and it was not broadcast on television.  I would assume that it must have been a member of the television production team that reported the penalty.  Don’t they know that when Tiger is in contention that ratings are better?  Dumb.

This all falls under USGA rule 18-2.

the player, his partner or either of their caddies:

• lifts or moves the ball,
• touches it purposely (except with a club in the act of addressing the ball), or
• causes the ball to move, or

Breaking this rule is a 1 stroke penalty but requires the ball to be replaced, which is why Woods was hit with another stroke.

You may remember that a television viewer reported a rules violation during this year’s Masters after Tiger took an improper drop.

The ball barely moved and I actually had to watch the video a second time to see it slightly dip down.  If Tiger had Will Smith as a caddie that second stroke penalty would’ve never happened.  Just saying.

0 comments